Syncplify.me Server! v4: from Blacklist to Protector!

One of the most popular and widely appreciated features of Syncplify.me Server! has always been its powerful and automatic blacklist. The upcoming Synplify.me Server! v4 is going to bring that concept to an even higher level with its Syncplify.me Protector!™ technology.

Protector! is a leap forward versus the blacklist as our users know it. It’s still fully automatic, but its controls are now 10 times more accurate and integrated much deeper in the protocols themselves. If used to its full potential, Protector! can be very harsh, therefore we felt the need to let our users configure its “sensitivity”. It is possible to set Protector! to either one of the following 4 “aggressiveness thresholds”:

  • Indulgent: when set to “indulgent”, Protector! will only detect authentication/authorization level violations, but will not consider a connect-disconnect sequence as a violation (thus it’s compatible with external “heartbeat” network and host monitors) – regardless, we still recommend the use of our SafeList for this purpose, and to set Protector! to indulgent only when Syncplify.me Server! is run in totally isolated networks not connected to the Internet.
  • Normal: this setting will tell Protector! to behave similarly to the previous blacklist (as seen in v1-v3), only with a much higher degree of accuracy. This is the default setting.
  • Strict: this is a harsher setting, ideal when a server is open to external users that don’t belong to your organization, and whose client software you have no control on. The “strict” setting, in fact, will treat all protocol level errors as violations, and trigger the strike-count for the blacklist. Requesting the download of a non-existent file, or the list of a directory without permissions, all these occurrences (and the like) will increase the strike-count, and eventually kick the connection and blacklist the remote IP.
  • Paranoid: similar to “strict” but… more. When Protector! is configured in “paranoid” mode, even just disconnecting without sending the “BYE” command will be considered a violation, and trigger the strike-count increase. So, we recommend to use this mode only when you have full control over the client’s behavior and you know for sure that the client is going to honor the protocol 100%, because in “paranoid” mode anything less than absolutely perfect is a violation, and will eventually get you blacklisted.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed