Why did my license revert back to FREE?

Occasionally we receive emails from customers whose paid license has reverted back to “free” or “freeware” mode, and they ask us why that happened.

To reduce the phenomenon of software piracy, Syncplify.me Server! binds its licenses to a so-called System-ID upon their activation. This means that, once a license has been activated, it is bound to that System-ID forever, unless we reset it (thus allowing activation on a new machine or VM).

You can find your System-ID in the License page of the SuperAdmin web interface:

Continue reading

The Journey from FTP to SFTP

You can also download this white-paper for offline use by scrolling to the bottom of this article.

File transfer is an important aspect in computing. There is always a need for us to transfer files between a source and a destination. While in the earlier days, certain protocols were used to manage file transfers between the client and server, security was not much of a concern then. But, with the advancements in computing and rise of different kind of intrusions, security gradually became a pressing need. Yes, you guessed right. I am talking about FTP and SFTP. Let’s take a look at the journey from FTP to SFTP.

The standard network protocol File Transfer Protocol (FTP) is used to transfer files between a client system and a server. According to Wikipedia, the FTP ran on NCP specification until 1980. After that the protocol was replaced by a TCP/IP version named RFC 765 and consequently by RFC 959 in October 1985. RFC 959 is the current specification which FTP follows.

According to the latest specification, FTP should fulfill 4 major objectives namely: Continue reading

Syncplify.me Server! v3.0: free upgrade for existing customers

All existing customers who paid for Syncplify.me Server! v1.x or v2.x are entitled to a free upgrade to the “equivalent higher” edition of version 3.0.

What is the equivalent “higher edition”? For example, if you bought a v2.x “Professional” (used to be $179) you will now be upgraded to v3.0 “Pro One” ($219 MSRP) at no cost. And if you bought a v2.x “Professional Plus” (used to be $279) you will not be upgraded to the v3.0 “Pro Multi” ($349 MSRP) at no cost. And so on…

How to receive your free upgrade to v3.0? In the next 48 hours all customers will receive an email with the instructions. But, in case you don’t receive it (spam filters aren’t always friendly) you can simply contact us and request your free upgrade to v3.0.

If you contact us directly, please, remember to include your order number or license code, so we can identify you and provide you with the correct v3.0 upgrade license. Thank you!