Why did my license revert back to FREE?

Occasionally we receive emails from customers whose paid license has reverted back to “free” or “freeware” mode, and they ask us why that happened.

To reduce the phenomenon of software piracy, Syncplify.me Server! binds its licenses to a so-called System-ID upon their activation. This means that, once a license has been activated, it is bound to that System-ID forever, unless we reset it (thus allowing activation on a new machine or VM).

You can find your System-ID in the License page of the SuperAdmin web interface:

If anything changes in the hardware, virtual hardware or operating system (increased RAM, changed MAC address, etc…) the System-ID changes; as a result, the license becomes invalid, and the software reverts back to running in “free” mode, forcing a single client connection at any given time.

We do care a lot about our honest customers, so we urge anyone in need to perform such changes to their machines/VMs to contact us first. We will provide a soft-reset of their license ahead of time, and even grant a grace-period on the old machine/hardware to be decommissioned or modified. As a result of our cooperation, our customers will experience near-zero downtime, and the best possible guarantee of business continuity.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed